Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Battery drains over night

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2010, 10:40 PM
01 blazer is on a distinguished road
Default Battery drains over night

I am new to this sight. I own a 2001 Blazer 4x4 that has a 1amp draw on the battery. I have electrical experience and located the draw coming form the TBC fuse. The factory manual shows this fuse feeds the keyless entry module, the flash to pass switch and the body control module. When I disconnected the brown connector(power to the BCM) the drain goes away. I also have disconnected the door switch so it doesn't interfer with my troubleshooting, but my question is how do I further track down this problem. Thanks

Old 11-03-2010, 06:51 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Does the draw stay at 1A consistently even after waiting a minute or so?

If it goes away when disconnecting the BCM, something is either keeping the BCM active or the BCM is bad.

Old 11-03-2010, 10:11 PM

The current draw will drop to .370 amp after a minute and will completely go away if I disconnect the brown plug on the BCM. I have metered the power wire on C1 pin A2 to ground with the TBC fuse pulled and that circuit is not shorted to ground. I also metered C1 pin A2 on the BCM and it also is not shorted to ground. Thanks for your input

Old 11-07-2010, 09:27 AM
Bigbser is on a distinguished road