Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

2000 Blazer Distributor Replacement... and issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2011, 08:54 PM
Vawx is on a distinguished road
Exclamation 2000 Blazer Distributor Replacement... and issues

I am in the process of changing out the Distributor drive gear and I came across a little snag.

I have a Haynes repair manual I've been following but some of the instructions are either vague, or over my head; I'm still learning engines/my car.

I followed the directions of removing the Distributor: Remove the cap, mark the Rotor, remove the Rotor, unbolt the Distributor bolt and then remove the Distributor for the engine.

Now, my issue is this. I replaced the drive gear and placed it back into the engine but in the guide, it says the Rotor should align (within a few degrees) to the number "6" on the Distributor body. It is WAY off. It later states that if the Rotor is not aligned with the number "6", to "rotate the oil pump driveshaft by inserting a long screwdriver into the shaft and rotating the necessary amount to allow the distributor to fit flush with the intank manifold"

Where is the Oil Pump Driveshaft? -- is the the shaft the Distributor sits in?

I didn't start the car while the Distributor was removed so the timing is the same and I noticed that there is only two possible ways for the Distributor to sit flush with the manifold; Shouldn't the "right" one be either of those?

Also, since the re-installation, the engine will not turn over. It tries, but wont.

Thanks in advance. -- and this is a EDI system distributor.

Last edited by Vawx; 03-19-2011 at 08:56 PM.
Old 03-19-2011, 08:57 PM
Administrator