Go Back   Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums > Mechanical & Maintenance > General Tech Help > 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Blazer Forum!
Welcome to Blazer Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Blazer Forum today!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-06-2011, 07:33 PM
drummerdude drummerdude is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 63
drummerdude is on a distinguished road
Default 94 s10 blazer coolant temp guage

Alright so I need some help here. I have a coolant temp guage that does not work. I have done some research and searching and found out which sensor it is, and I have tested the guage itself and wiring by shorting the connection to ground and the guage works. I just went and replaced the temp sender unit and the gauge still does not work. Its about 50 degreees outside and I let the engine warm up for a good 20 mins and the gauge still has not moved, what eles can I check?

Thanks guys
__________________
1994 S10 Blazer 4 door 4x4 4.3 Liter V6
148,000 miles and counting
  #2  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:40 PM
mr.vls mr.vls is offline
Senior Member
1989 GMC S-15
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 930
mr.vls will become famous soon enough
Default

Which sending unit did you replace? There are two temperature sending units, one is for the gauge and one is for the ECM. The one for the gauge is mounted on the side of the block. The one for the ECM is mounted by the water inlet at the intake manifold. Also there are two different temperature sending units for the dash. One is for vehicals with an idiot light and one is for vehicals with a gauge. I have had the parts store sell me the one for a car with an idiot light before.
__________________
1989 S15 Jimmy (DD) with 415K Miles, GM Factory Rebuilt Engine/Trans. New Paint, Headliner, New Suspension Bushings, Eddlebrock Waterpump/Shocks, Adj. Fuel Pressure Regulator and in line Fuel Gage, Injector Spacer, K&N Air Filter, Stock Exhaust, Michalin X-Radial Tires (215/70) Stock Rally Rims, Pioneer Head Unit, IPOD Adapter, Pioneer 4X6 Plates in the front, Pioneer 6X9 5 way sp Rear, 8" Clarion enclosed amp & supwoofer, 10 Disk CD Player. ABS Headliner, Original Owner.
  #3  
Old 11-06-2011, 11:17 PM
pettyfog pettyfog is offline
BF Veteran
1999 Oldsmobile Bravada
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SW Central OH
Posts: 2,252
pettyfog is a jewel in the roughpettyfog is a jewel in the roughpettyfog is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vls View Post
Which sending unit did you replace? There are two temperature sending units, one is for the gauge and one is for the ECM. The one for the gauge is mounted on the side of the block. The one for the ECM is mounted by the water inlet at the intake manifold. Also there are two different temperature sending units for the dash. One is for vehicals with an idiot light and one is for vehicals with a gauge. I have had the parts store sell me the one for a car with an idiot light before.
Drummer.. that is very likely the problem.
__________________
Taking a long hiatus; totally unrelated blather at....

99 Bravadiva - She's SUCH a Good Girl.
  #4  
Old 11-07-2011, 05:54 AM
drummerdude drummerdude is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 63
drummerdude is on a distinguished road
Default

I replaced the one on the side of the block. And it is the correct sensor, looks just like the old one, so now I'm going to play the game of track where the bad connection is.. IE ground, clip, etc.
__________________
1994 S10 Blazer 4 door 4x4 4.3 Liter V6
148,000 miles and counting
  #5  
Old 11-07-2011, 05:57 AM
chris015's Avatar
chris015 chris015 is offline
BF Veteran
1993 Chevrolet S10 Blazer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,623
chris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura about
YOUMADBRAHLOL
Default

the trucks a 94....do you have the terrible digital dash? If so it could just be the cluster. They are notorious for loosing gauges.
__________________
Like a boss.
  #6  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:15 AM
harley745's Avatar
harley745 harley745 is offline
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 49
harley745 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Temp Guage

I had the same problem, and finally added a Manuel temp gauge, now I know for sure what the temp is, also according to specs I added a 195 degree thermostat, now it runs between 190 and 195. The temp is never out of the range. Good Luck Sir
  #7  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:55 AM
bromanjr bromanjr is offline
Starting Member
2000 Chevrolet Blazer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 115
bromanjr is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bromanjr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummerdude View Post
Alright so I need some help here. I have a coolant temp guage that does not work. I have done some research and searching and found out which sensor it is, and I have tested the guage itself and wiring by shorting the connection to ground and the guage works. I just went and replaced the temp sender unit and the gauge still does not work. Its about 50 degreees outside and I let the engine warm up for a good 20 mins and the gauge still has not moved, what eles can I check?

Thanks guys
If shorting the wire to ground pegs the gauge, then it is the sending unit, you got the wrong one or a bad one.
  #8  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:35 PM
drummerdude drummerdude is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 63
drummerdude is on a distinguished road
Default

I do not have the digital cluster. Can someone post the link for the right part at napa or autozone?
__________________
1994 S10 Blazer 4 door 4x4 4.3 Liter V6
148,000 miles and counting
Old 11-07-2011, 07:35 PM
Closed Thread

Tags
1994, 94, blazer, coolant, forum, gauge, gen, ground, guage, problems, s10, temp, temperature, wiring, working


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No temp reading on temp guage bertrenolds 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech 4 12-19-2008 07:45 PM
What are the temp guage increments?? freakgt 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 10 12-15-2008 03:21 PM
Coolant temp. guage not working myronhntr80 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech 7 03-06-2008 07:58 PM
Temp guage not getting very warm RZS2000Blazer Engine & Transmission 25 02-11-2008 02:11 AM
engine temp guage docta J 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech 3 11-18-2007 01:25 PM

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.