2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

voltage drop at license plate bulb. Only 7.6 volts.?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2012, 05:03 PM
Beginning Member
wallacereid is on a distinguished road
Default voltage drop at license plate bulb. Only 7.6 volts.?

I know this is a little picky, buy the driver side plate light does not work. After verifying the bulb, I tested the voltage at the socket and back down the wire a foot or so to the first plug. Sure enough, it's only getting 7.6 volts at both places, where the passenger side light is getting 11.5 volts and is illuminating.

I am not an electrician. How can the voltage be less....I thought it was either working, or not.

Seems light the bulb would glow a little, but nothing.

I saw on an older post from Vegas Dan, that the ground was bad and he used steel wool. But where is the groung, and where did he use steel wool?

Last edited by wallacereid; 01-26-2012 at 05:10 PM.
Old 01-26-2012, 05:04 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

is the socket corroded inside ? ya might wanna clean it out and see if the voltage goes up

Old 01-26-2012, 05:12 PM
Beginning Member

It looks good, but I'm going to scrub it out...I'll let you know....

Old 01-26-2012, 05:12 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

you know what ya can do ? put the tip of the multimeter where the wire enters the socket and see if you get the correct voltage

thats if you have room to put the needle in

just thought of it now

Old 01-26-2012, 05:30 PM
Beginning Member

The socket was clean, but I folded a small sliver of sandpaper and cleaned the socket connections....no change.

Old 01-26-2012, 05:31 PM
BF Guru

are bolt bulbs connected to the same line (wire) ?

Old 01-26-2012, 05:32 PM
Beginning Member